June 17, 2021


Let'S Talk Law

Finalists for prestigious lawful help awards unveiled | News

The finalists for a established of prestigious authorized aid awards have been introduced as the organisers hope to repeat the achievement of last year’s digital ceremony.

Very last year’s Authorized Help Law firm of the Yr Awards was livestreamed on YouTube owing to the pandemic and has been viewed 4,000 situations. This year’s winners will be announced throughout a are living broadcast on 6 July.

The awards are organised by the Lawful Help Practitioners Group. Disability rights has been added to this year’s classes. The Legislation Modern society has sponsored the authorized support firm/not-for-gain agency classification, in which the finalists are Centre for Women’s Justice, MJC Regulation and Howard League for Penal Reform.

Asserting this year’s nominees, LAPG main govt Chris Minnoch claimed: ‘This year’s finalists give an insight into the array, depth and breadth of the unbelievable daily life-shifting perform that social justice attorneys do – and the important part they participate in in making sure entry to justice for individuals, households and communities. It is testimony to the importance of the LALY awards to the lawful assist sector that we had a bumper crop of compelling and inspiring nominations this yr – even with the serious pressures we are all going through owing to the pandemic.’

Legal Assist Law firm of the Calendar year Awards 2021: Finalists


Disability legal rights: Amy Butler – Atkins & Palmer, Kate Jackson – MJC Legislation, Kirsty Stuart – Irwin Mitchell

Criminal defence: Anna Renou – ITN Solicitors, Caroline Liggins – Hodge, Jones & Allen, Suzanne O’Connell – Tuckers Solicitors

Household: Cris McCurley – Ben Hoare Bell, Novlet Levy – Goodman Ray, Oliver Conway – Oliver Fisher Solicitors

Housing: Adrian Brazier – Barking & Dagenham Citizens Guidance, Jeinsen Lam – South West London Regulation Centres, Kathleen Cosgrove – Better Manchester Regulation Centre

Lawful aid barrister: Blinne Ní Ghrálaigh – Matrix Chambers, Stephen Lue – Yard Courtroom Chambers, Tessa Buchanan – Backyard garden Court Chambers

Legal support crew: Cartwright King psychological health team, Duncan Lewis public legislation workforce, Matthew Gold & Co general public legislation & group care group

Lawful assist firm/Not-for-gain company: Centre for Women’s Justice, MJC Law, Howard League for Penal Reform

Regional lawful support agency/Not-for-financial gain company: Regulation Centre Northern Ireland, Family Law Enterprise, Watkins & Gunn

Lawful aid newcomer: Alice Irving – Doughty Avenue Chambers, Audrey Cherryl Mogan – Backyard garden Courtroom Chambers, Bianca St Prix – Hodge Jones & Allen, Killian Moran – Kesar & Co Solicitors

General public law: Maria Thomas – Duncan Lewis Solicitors, Nkiru Okafor – Wilson Solicitors, Rakesh Singh – Community Regulation Undertaking

Social welfare: Imogen Townley – Wilson Solicitors, Jeni Lloyd – TRP Solicitors, Kristen Bender – Tuckers Solicitors, Andrew Sperling – SL5 Authorized/Tuckers Solicitors

Excellent accomplishment: No shortlist